Night sky aurora borealis

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Spokane Clean Air is governed by a 5-member Board of Directors who serve four-year terms. The Board conducts monthly hybrid meetings on the first Thursday of each month, at 9:30 a.m., unless otherwise publicized. Meeting agendas are posted a week prior to each meeting on our homepage under “Notices & Hearings.”

Our Board members believe that a fully-funded, technically-capable, and locally-controlled air quality agency is necessary to the environmental and economic health of Spokane County. 

Meet our Board Members:

Spokane County representative: Al French, Chair

Al French is a Spokane County Commissioner who previously served on the Spokane City Council. After serving in the U.S. Marine Corps, from 1969 to 1972, Al moved to Moscow, Idaho to attend the University of Idaho. He received his degree in Architecture and minored in Business Finance. Prior to holding elective offices, Al served on numerous boards and commissions throughout the region. Al has more than 40 years of experience as a successful businessman, architect, investment consultant, and developer in the Spokane region.

Term expires 12/31/26

Citizen/Member-at-Large representative: Tom Brattebo

Tom Brattebo holds Bachelor Degrees in Political Science from WSU, and Education from EWU. He is retired from Kaiser Aluminum and the U.S. Air Force Reserve. He served on Spokane Clean Air’s Advisory Council for seven years prior to his first appointment to the Board in June 2009. Tom is active in local environmental advocacy, including air and water quality. He is passionate about youth environmental education. While an AmeriCorps member, Tom was instrumental in signing up schools to participate in Spokane Clean Air’s No-Idle Zone program for Spokane Clean Air. He also conducted environmental education at the West Valley Outdoor Learning Center.

Term expires 12/31/24

Small Cities/Towns representative: Chris Grover

Chris Grover is the Mayor of Cheney, WA. He joined our board in January, 2024.

Chris’ bio is coming soon!

Term expires 12/31/27

City of Spokane Valley representative: Rod Higgins

Rod Higgins is a councilmember for the City of Spokane Valley, serving since 2013, including a stint as the Mayor. Prior to serving on the council, Rod was a member of the City of Spokane Valley Planning Commission. Rod retired as a Director of the International Society of Mine Safety Professionals. He holds a B.S. in Finance from the University of Idaho. Rod is active in a number of community and professional organizations.

Term expires 12/31/27

City of Spokane representative: Jim Simon, Vice Chair

Jim Simon joined Gonzaga University as its first Director of Sustainability after serving in various professional and volunteer capacities in New York. At Gonzaga, Jim is working to add capacity to their missioned goal of being a climate neutral campus by 2050. Jim serves as the Chair of the Washington State Ridesharing Organization and is a member of the Sustainability Action Sub-Committee of the Spokane City Council. Through engaging the campus and the community in new and different ways, Jim fosters a culture of sustainability that is resilient and responsive to the dynamics of our changing world.  

Term expires 12/31/25