Night sky aurora borealis

Advisory Council

Meet our Advisory Council

Spokane Clean Air’s Advisory Council provides input to our Executive Director and Board of Directors on agency programs and policies. The council is made up of volunteers who each bring experience in specific areas, such as agriculture, industry, health, science, and fire protection. Advisory Council positions are appointed by the agency’s Board of Directors to four year terms.

The Advisory Council meets the fourth Thursday of each month, unless otherwise publicized. Meetings are open to the public and agendas are posted about a week prior to each meeting. Due to the pandemic, meetings are currently being held remotely.

Current members:

Agriculture: Jacqueline C. Etter

  • Bachelor of Arts, Chemistry, Gonzaga University
  • Biodiesel Specialist
  • Over 35 years experience in the construction industry
  • Term expires December 31, 2024

Air Quality: Jana McDonald

  • Licensed Professional Engineer
  • Bachelor of Science Degree, Civil Engineering, Gonzaga University
  • Environmental Engineer for Central Pre-Mix Concrete Company
  • Term expires December 31, 2026 

Business Community: Hal Ophus

  • 30+ years experience in Construction Industry
  • Certified EPA AHERA Building Inspector, Lead Renovator
  • Certified WA State Asbestos Supervisor
  • WA State Dept of Ecology Certified Erosion and Sediment Control Lead
  • Term expires December 31, 2025

Chemistry/Science: Ronald Edgar, Vice Chair

  • Retired, Chief of Technical Services for SRCAA
  • Expertise in air monitoring techniques, atmospheric chemistry, industrial policies, air quality regulatory policies
  • Bachelor of Science, Chemistry, Eastern Washington University
  • Term expires December 31, 2025

Environment: John Dietzman

  • BS Chemical Engineering, CAL Berkeley and MS Chemical Engineering, Stanford
  • 35+ years in petroleum industry designing, building, operating, and managing facilities
  • Expertise in environmental compliance programs at facility and corporate levels
  • Spokane City Plan Commissioner for 8 years
  • Member and Chair of citizen advisory bodies for multimodal transportation infrastructure improvement
  • Term expires December 31, 2024

Fire Protection: Doug Bleeker

  • Assistant Chief of Technical Services with Spokane County Fire District 9
  • 30+ year veteran of fire service
  • Bachelor of Science, Geology
  • Term expires December 31, 2026

Industry: Brent Downey

  • Bachelor of Science, Environmental Engineering, Montana Tech
  • Manager for Environmental Affairs, Kaiser
  • Over 17 years experience in air permitting and compliance in industrial settings
  • Term expires December 31, 2024

Member-at-Large: Dr. Tony Masiello

  • Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Eastern Washington University
  • Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Oregon State University, 2003
  • Background in atmospheric chemistry, specifically in utilizing infrared spectroscopy for obtaining qualitative and quantitative information of gas concentrations
  • Term expires December 31, 2027

Public Health: Ray Byrne, R.S.

  • Environmental Public Health Director, Spokane Regional Health District
  • Registered Sanitarian, National Environmental Health Association
  • Member, Washington State Environmental Health Association
  • Member, National Environmental Health Association
  • Term expires December 31, 2025

Advisory Council documents